top of page

Zoran Markovic

Johan Inger

Born in Belgrade in 1974, Zoran Marković started dancing at the National Ballet school "Lujo Davico". Having placed 3rd at the Benetton Competition in Treviso in 1991, he was invited by Marika Besobrazova to continue his professional development at Princess Grace school in Monaco for a period of two months. Through a scholarship scheme, Zoran completed the Hamburg Ballet School, John Neumeier. His first professional engagement was with Dresden Ballet under V.Derevianko where he was a soloist for two years. In 1998 he followed choreographer Stephan Thoss to Thoss-Tanzkopanie in Kiel where he maintained a soloist. In 2001, the Company moved to Hanover where Zoran continued to be a soloist and took the position of Stephan Thoss's assistant. As a guest soloist, Zoran performed with the Lyon Ballet in Mat Ek’s Carmen as Don Jose for the company’s Asia tour. In 2006 he continued his career at Netherlands Dance Theatre in Den Haag, The Netherlands.

He danced solo roles in choreographies of: J.Neumeier (Sacre, Daphnes and Chloe, The Nutcracker, Afternoon of a Faun (creation), Mats Ek (Grass, Carmen, Fluke), Lightfoot/Leon ( Silent Screen, Speak for Yourself, etc.); W. Forsythe ( Trio), Crystal Pite (Second person), G.Tetley (Volontaries), J.Lazinni (La Fille mal gardée), K.Gdaniec (Earth) , Stephan Thoss (Giselle M, Swanlake, Teufel und Engel, Interval, Mohnblume, Belullus, Solus, Nach Moskau, Vision Fugitive, Cha Cha and others), T.Willhelm, M.Goecke, F.Magadan, L.Timulak, F.Nappa, and others. Throughout his career, he performed in different theaters around the world. In 2013 Zoran took the position of a rehearsal director and assistant of a director of Lucerne Dance Company where he taught classical ballet, assisted choreographers, rehearsed repertoire, and organized and co-directed the company. As a ballet master in Lucerne, Zoran assisted and rehearsed choreographies of Stijn Celis, Fernando Magadan, Cayetano Soto, Crystal Pite, Johan Inger, Andonis Foniadakis, Lukas Timulak, Patrick Delcroix, Bryan Arias, Stephan Thoss, Idan Sharabi, Fernando Melo, Georg Reischl, Didi Veldman, Marco Goecke and Jo Stromgren.

bottom of page